A Tutorial about Negative Space with Jolly the Unicorn

♡ SHORT EXPLANATION

Simply put, positive space is best described as the areas in a work of art that are the subjects, or areas of interest. Negative space is area around the subjects, or areas of interest. I won’t go too deep into what it is and what it isn’t, so if you’re interested feel free to look up negative space, now let’s go on to how and why use it to your advantage!

credits: http://thevirtualinstructor.com/positive-and-negative-space.html

♡ WHY SHOULD I USE NEGATIVE SPACES?

We basically use the space around our artwork to make it more dynamic, interesting, eye catching, which is very important for when we’re looking for exposure (which as an artist, I think you may be ^_~)

It’s something I wish I had known from the start as it’s a huge time saver for me, so now I would like to share my personal technique with you!

Jolly SpeaksJOLLY’S TIP: No one knows how long you spent in your picture, how many shades of blue and sparkly yellow with pink accents and tiny little heart you mixed to make the eyes look absolutely fantastic – or how neat that awesome lineart you spent 3 days polishing is. If the thumbnail is not eye-catching, chances are no one will notice your work at all!

So why not keep in mind the way your art will look from the distance from the very beginning?

♡ I START WITH A MASSIVE BLACK BLOB

neg-space01

Charming, isn’t it?

No, that’s seriously how I start a picture. Who’s that Pokémon style. I don’t care about anatomy or proportion, or anything except how it ~flows~ against the blank background.

QUESTION TO ASK YOURSELF WHEN PLANNING A PICTURE:

  1. How can I make this blob look more interesting?
  2. How can I make everything flow more harmoniously?
  3. Can I quickly recognize from the shapes alone what this is meant to be? How can I refine it?

Bombom Returns

 

Make your blob as interesting, pretty and clickable in a sea of thumbnails and you’re sure to attract many possible new fans

 

 I COLOR MY MASSIVE BLACK BLOB

neg-space02Ok, so you’re satisfied with the shape of your lovely blob, time to start coloring!

There are still plenty of things to tweak here and there anatomy-wise, but this step is my huge time-saver! I set the final colors in this step already but this is a personal thing and not the point of this tutorial. ^_^ Adapt to your own personal style okay?

It’s starting to take shape!

SKETCHY SKETCH TIME!

neg-space03Ah~ That step we all know so well~

Ok! So I made some adjustments to the anatomy and made it even more ~flowy~ with loose sketching realness.

The only part I was absolutely serious about in this step was the eyes because I’m going to use this pretty set for the final result. WE’RE ALMOST THERE!

INK ME PLEASE!

neg-space04

Self-explanatory, right?

Once I felt happy with my blob and sketch, I went ahead and inked the whole thing, also added some extra fluff in her sleeve there right next to her leg because the character Cutesu is such an adorable character she totally deserves it!

CUTESU web

AAAND THE FINISHED PICTURE!

So here’s my technique ^_^ quite simple right? I recommend beginners to experiment a lot until you find or develop a technique that works for you!

I hope you find this tutorial helpful! Happy drawing!

~ Jolly the Unicorn

Leave a Reply

